top of page

Accountability, Embarrassment and Change OH MY!

Happy Monday!!! I want to talk about accountability this morning, and how you can make sure you stay on track for this week.

In the past I never liked to tell people when I was eating healthy or working out. Just in case I decided to stop, or fell off the wagon I didn't want people to see my failure. I didn't want people to ask me what happened to my new health kick, and know that I reverted back to my old ways so fast. For the longest I thought this was saving me from getting embarrassed but I realized instead it’s what was holding me back.

It wasn't until I started documenting my health journey and posting pictures on Instagram that I finally stuck to a plan. By publicly documenting my progress and making it known to people what I was doing I started to hold myself accountable. I knew if I posted a “Before” picture I would be determined to stay on track, so that I could post an “After” picture. I also knew if every Wednesday I posted everything I ate, I would be more likely to eat food that was good for me.

Inadvertently I was using my Instagram to hold myself accountable and it worked! Now if I was to sit here and say I wasn't nervous and embarrassed to put myself out there it would be a lie. I didn't want people to know I had let myself go, I also didn't want people seeing my problem areas and judging me. But then one day a light bulb went off in my head. Why am I embarrassed to show people that I'm being healthy? Why am I embarrassed to show people that I'm trying to live my life right? That's absolutely nothing to be ashamed about. I was too worried about being embarrassed that I wasn't holding myself accountable. I was caring more about what other people thought, and was letting that dictate how I took care of myself. Sitting here typing that out is crazy to me. I was caring more about what others thought about me than what I thought about myself!

I was the reason why I was failing, and as difficult as it was to admit, it wasn't until I realized this that I was able to change. I had to first:

Get over being embarrassed, there was nothing for me to be embarrassed about, and I should never let anyone make me feel bad for trying to improve myself.

I also had to Hold myself accountable. Taking responsibility for myself and making sure I stuck to what I was going to do was very important. Once I did those two things I was able to succeed.

Embarrassment and Accountability probably are two big factors that people struggle with when trying to crossover to a healthier lifestyle, but they are two things that once you do figure out how to get past them you will see a huge difference in our progress.

I challenge everyone today to do one thing that will increase their accountability. Whether it’s posting a before picture, or everything you ate today. Or, if it’s finally letting it be known publicly that you’ve decided to make a change. Don’t let the opinion of others get in the way of you being a better person.

XOXO

-@TheAntoinetteG


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Journey of Discovery
and Weight Loss

Hello Everybody! Thanks for visiting my site. This Blog is devoted to actually carrying out everything you say you want to. To stop making...

bottom of page